RSS

Funky Fold Card

09 May

Since I posted absolutely nothing in April (did I mention I’m horrible at maintaining anything resembling a journal) I am incredibly behind on posting all the projects I’ve accomplished last month. So, I will bombard the beginning of this month with all those posts I should have written last month.

I find it harder to create cards for males than females since it seems so much more limited. Patterned paper, colors, and embellishments all seem to be targeted towards a more feminine audience. To compensate, I have opted to go for interesting card folds when it comes to making masculine cards. A great fold I found on Laura Lipe’s blog is this funky fold card. I love her blog.  I chose this fold for my friend’s birthday.

Front:
Funky Fold Front
My friend is a theoretical chemist so I thought it would be fun to incorporate it into his card.  The side images were created using an online program I happened to stumble upon one night (sadly, I have lost the website url) that creates newspaper clipping images.  The newspaper clipping is actually the abstract from my friend’s work that was published on an online journal.  Technically, theoretical chemists do not handle actual chemicals, but I ran out of ideas and I liked the color on the beakers image so I placed it on the bottom anyway.  The periodical table of elements greeting was a pain for sure, but worth it since it turned out great.  I tried to just use images I found online, but they had too many numbers/words that it became blurred when I minimized it, so I just made my own on Photoshop.  I’m super proud of this one. (^_^)

From the side:
Funky Fold Side

Materials Used:

Cardstock – Brown, Red, Blue, Green (The Paper Company); White for the greeting and images
Ink – Walnut Antiquing Solution (Tsukineko)
Misc – Foam squares

Instructions can be found here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Cards, Paper Crafts

 

Leave a Reply

 
