RSS

Mini Birthday Cakes

04 Mar
Can you tell I like mini cakes?  They’re just so much more fun since unlike one large cake you can decorate several.  I say that now, but when I was making these at 3AM I was kicking myself for not making a large cake instead.  AND I was really mad when the person I made them for didn’t even attend the party!  There were supposed to be mini red velvet (gross) cakes along with this, but there was a mishap and since it was already 3AM I gave up and made cupcakes at work and bought them from there instead.  I don’t have a picture of the cupcakes though.
Mini Cakes
Disregard the food wrap in the background.  I was rushing out to go to the party and had no time to clear space out.  My favorites are the three pouches (green and gold, brown and green, and striped).  I was going for the “I’m going to wrap this large candle with cellophane and scrunch it all at the top and tie with ribbon look”, but came away with what looks to me like old coin purses instead, which I liked better. ^_^  The brown and green pouch seems like it’s dirty in this picture, but it’s actually pearl dust that my camera has a hard time capturing correctly.
Mini Cake
This was my reject because it didn’t fit in the box and because I tried to make it shiny with said pearl dust and lemon extract but it was too strong (as can be seen by the glare it kept bouncing back from the flash).
The cakes: white cake with coffee neoclassic buttercream (Cake Bible)
Fondant: combination of Chocopan and Satin Ice since Vegas weather makes it difficult to work with Chocopan alone.
Colors: Americolor Teal and Green, Wilton Brown
Accents: Soft Gold pearl dust, Old Gold pearl dust, Super Pearl Powder
 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 4, 2011 in Cupcakes and Mini Cakes, Food

 

One response to “Mini Birthday Cakes

  1. kooksfood

    July 5, 2011 at 12:01 AM

    Oh my gosh these look amazing! I wish my fingers were capable of being this delicate! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
