RSS

Red Velvet Balls

14 Feb
Okay, so I am horribly behind on posting all of my holiday projects, but given this is Valentine’s Day I figured I would post at least the red velvet ones since they fit the color theme. 🙂
Truthfully, I am not a red velvet fan because of the high amount of red food coloring needed to achieve its hue, but my sister is very fond of it so I decided to make her some for Christmas.  I also found a red velvet angel food cake recipe from Michelle’s Story.  Light, fluffy cakes are my type of cakes so I was excited to make this recipe.  I learned three important lessons while attempting this project: First, candy melts and I do not get along.  Second, angel food cake does not crumble well unless it’s been completely dried out.  Lastly, all the food coloring I used just makes me stick to eating Devil’s Food cake instead of Red Velvet.  It is after all what red velvet originated from…oh, and that roux icing is much better than cream cheese icing.
I baked the angel food cake pretty much as was written in the recipe instruction, but baked it in a sheet pan instead since it was going to be crumbled anyway.  Then I had my cousin run the cake(it cooled overnight) through a cooling rack.  We then added cream cheese frosting to the crumbs just until it could hold a ball shape.
Red Velvet CrumbsRolled Red Velvet Balls
Yes, the crumbs look odd and the balls look like meatballs, but they tasted good.  I promise!  The balls were placed in the refrigerator while I melted the candy melts to harden.  This is where I began to get annoyed and things went downhill.  Originally these were to be mini cupcakes…as in they were going to be placed into peanut butter cup molds, but the balls my cousin and I rolled were too small.  Since it was late I decided to just coat them.  Maybe it was because the balls were too cold, but the chocolate was blooming after I dipped them.  I tried to fix it, but got too frustrated and, yes, gave up.  But the end results were a lot better than I expected.  Add some pink (because I couldn’t get red) stripes and some gold dust and ta da! Pretty red velvet “bon bons.”
Finished A closer look

Closeup

***I had left over batter than I poured into mini tube pans that I later turned into wreaths.  Those pictures will go up with the rest of the holiday cakes though.***
 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Cupcakes and Mini Cakes, Food

 

One response to “Red Velvet Balls

Leave a Reply

 
